Skip to content
This search input has a predictive search function. When 3 letters or more are entered, a number of predictive results appear in a dropdown. Use arrow keys to navigate and use the enter key to go to the page highlighted.

Board of Directors

Saul LevinSaul Levin, M.D., M.P.A., Chair

Saul M. Levin, M.D., M.P.A., is the Chief Executive Officer and Medical Director of the American Psychiatric Association (APA), Chair of the APA Foundation Board of Directors, and Clinical Professor at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Uyen-Khanh Quang-DangUyen-Khanh Quang-Dang, M.D., M.Sc., Secretary

Dr. Quang-Dang worked for two years on leading the effort to found the Cultural Psychiatry Area of Distinction at UCSF in January 2014, and is also its inaugural graduate. Her career interests include mental health advocacy, geriatric psychiatry, cultural psychiatry, and psychotherapy.

Louis J. KrausLouis J. Kraus, M.D., DFAPA, FAACAP, Treasurer

Dr. Louis Kraus is the Women's Board Professor and Chief of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Rush University Medical Center and the Director of the Rush Autism Assessment, Research and Treatment Services Center.

Lama BazziLama Bazzi, M.D.

Dr. Lama Bazzi completed her training in adult psychiatry at SUNY Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn, New York. She then pursued further training in Forensic Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University Hospitals in Cleveland, Ohio. During her fellowship she developed an interest in the role a forensic expert plays in educating judges and lawyers on the complexities of mental illness.

Gregory W. DalackGregory W. Dalack, M.D.

Gregory W. Dalack is the Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Michigan. He began work at the University of Michigan in 1992 and served in a variety of leadership roles in the Mental Health Service at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System through 2005.

Dwight L. EvansDwight L. Evans, M.D.

Dwight L. Evans, M.D. is the Ruth Meltzer Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Professor of Psychiatry, Medicine, and Neuroscience for Perelman School of Medicine. He is also the Psychiatrist-in-Chief for the University of Pennsylvania Health System.

Karinn GloverKarinn Glover, M.D., M.P.H.

As the Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Dr. Glover teaches psychopharmacology and aspects of psychotherapy to Internal Medicine and Family Medicine residents. She is Director of the Mental Health Team for Montefiore Medical Group's CICERO program.

Eleni Greenwood-JaswaEleni Greenwood-Jaswa, M.D., M.Sc., F.A.C.O.G.

Eleni Greenwood Jaswa, M.D., M.Sc., F.A.C.O.G., received her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees with Distinction from Stanford University simultaneously in 2007. She worked briefly as a healthcare investment banking analyst before attending medical school at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City, where she received numerous awards for academic excellence.

Dilip V. JesteDilip V. Jeste, M.D.

Dilip V. Jeste, MD is the Associate Dean for Healthy Aging and Senior Care, Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair in Aging, Director of the Sam and Rose Stein Institute for Research on Aging, and Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences, at University of California, San Diego.

Gabrielle ShapiroGabrielle Shapiro, M.D.

Dr. Gabrielle Shapiro is an Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Health Systems. She is a Board Certified Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist and has been in practice for more than 20 years.

Steven S. SharfsteinSteven S. Sharfstein, M.D., M.P.A.

Dr. Steven S. Sharfstein is President Emeritus and former Chief Executive Officer of the Sheppard Pratt Health System, where he worked for 30 years. He is also Clinical Professor and Vice Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Maryland.

Justice Evelyn Lundberg StrattonJustice Evelyn Lundberg Stratton, Retired

Evelyn Lundberg Stratton, retired from the Supreme Court of Ohio after 23 years in the judiciary to pursue criminal justice reforms, particularly as they relate to mental health, juveniles, and veterans.

Ben ZobristBen Zobrist

Ben Zobrist began playing baseball at eight years old but never envisioned a professional career in the sport. Zobrist had a successful career at Olivet Nazarene for his first three collegiate years and transferred to Dallas Baptist University for his senior year where he graduated with a degree in Communications. Zobrist has established himself as one of the most versatile players in the league, having started at every position on the field except for pitcher and catcher.

Richard SummerRichard Summer, M.D., Ex-Officio, APA Treasurer

Richard F. Summers, MD is Senior Residency Advisor and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. He served as Co-Director of Residency Training at Penn from 1998 to 2017.

Bruce SchwartzBruce Schwartz, M.D, Ex-Officio, APA Immediate Past-President

Dr. Schwartz is Professor, Deputy Chair and Clinical Director of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences at Montefiore and the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. He also serves as the President of the Montefiore Behavioral Care IPA and is the Medical Director and founding member of University Behavioral Associates, a not-for-profit behavioral health management services organization.

Vivian PenderVivian Pender, M.D., Ex-Officio, APA President-Elect

Vivian B. Pender, M.D. is the President-Elect of the American Psychiatric Association. Dr. Pender is a Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the Weill Cornell Medical College and a Training Psychoanalyst at Columbia University.

Access Board Resources here.