Awards for Advancing Minority Mental Health

Recognizing Innovation and Excellence

The American Psychiatric Association Foundation's Awards for Advancing Minority Mental Health, formerly known as the Minority Mental Health Awards, were established in 2003 by the Foundation with the generous support of Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc. (OAPI).

Each year, the Awards for Advancing Minority Mental Health recognize outstanding psychiatrists, health professionals, mental health programs and community organizations that have undertaken innovative and supportive efforts to:

  • Raise awareness of mental illness in under-served minority communities, the need for early recognition, the availability of treatment and how to access it, and the cultural barriers to treatment.

  • Increase access to quality mental health services for under-served minority communities.

  • Improve the quality of care for under-served minority populations, particularly those in the public health system or with severe mental illness.

The Awards include a financial contribution of $5,000 given to the recipient individual or designated charitable program.

The winners of 2018’s Awards for Advancing Minority Mental Health
The winners of 2018’s Awards for Advancing Minority Mental Health with APAF Exec. Dir. Daniel Gillison, Jr. and APA CEO Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A.

Awards Contact

Lilia Coffin
Program Coordinator
The American Psychiatric Association (APA) is committed to ensuring accessibility of its website to people with disabilities.  If you have trouble accessing any of APA’s web resources, please contact us at 202-559-3900 for assistance.

Help Us Build A Mentally Healthy Nation

Text APAF2019 to 44321 to Give Now.


American Psychiatric Association Foundation
800 Maine Avenue, S.W., Suite 900
Washington, District of Columbia 20024


Main Line: 202-559-3888

Toll Free: 1-888-35PSYCH

Copyright © 2019 American Psychiatric Association Foundation